FAQ about the Brick in Architecture Awards

The submittal deadline for the nation’s premier awards program recognizing excellence in the use of clay brick is coming up on October 31. Seems like the perfect time for an FAQ…

Q: Does the project need to be 100% brick to qualify?
A: No. Any work of architecture in which new clay brick products comprise the predominant exterior building or paving material (over 50 percent), is eligible.

Q: So what does “clay brick products” mean?
A: “Clay brick products” include face or hollow brick, building brick, thin brick, paving brick, glazed brick, structural glazed facing tile, new clay brick products in special shapes and/or a combination of any of these units.

Q: Since this is the 2019 awards, does the project need to be completed in 2019?
A: No. Any work of architecture completed since January 1, 2014 is eligible.

Q: Are there categories?
A: Yes. Projects can be submitted in any of the following categories:

  • Commercial

  • Education - K-12

  • Higher Education - Colleges & Universities

  • Residential – Single Family

  • Residential – Multi-Family

  • Paving & Landscape Projects

  • Historic Renovation

  • International

Q: Does the project have to be in the U.S.?
A: No, but projects located outside the U.S., Canada, or U.S. Territories must be entered in the International category.

Q: Are the awards only open to architectural and design firms?
A: No, clay brick manufacturers and distributors may enter projects of which they have been a part on behalf of the architect. Clay brick regional associations and other masonry associations from across the country may also enter projects from their own regional competitions or from their members.

Q: Where can I see photos of past award winners?
A: Click the buttons below to see award winners from previous years.

It’s time you got the recognition you deserve for you your clay brick project. Don’t wait! Entries are due October 31, 2019.